VOL1 2019

Gastronome is the official publication of the U.S. Chaîne des Rôtisseurs. The magazine provides coverage of local, regional, national and international Chaîne events as well as feature stories about members and member establishments.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 28 of 139

Student Night at the Chaîne BY ANN SANFORD, Bailli CULINARY STUDENTS FROM Owens Community College were the stars of the Toledo Bailliage's spring induction dinner at the school's Terrace View Café on April 14, 2018. Attendees savored hors d'oeuvres of bluefish pâté, curried goat shooters, and asparagus- morel ragoût while enjoying videos of the six young women who had competed in the Chopped -style cook-off the previous month. The chapter was delighted to pres- ent winner Brittney Hagan with a giant check, representing the $3,200 the Chaîne Foundation had donated to Owens on her behalf. The judges of the March competition were Maître Rôtisseur Chris Nixon, owner/ executive chef of Element 112 restau- rant; Maître Rôtisseur Jamie Simpson, execu- tive chef liaison for the Culinary Vegetable Institute; and Owens Culinary Instructor Gretchen Fayerweather. All three noted the high caliber of the culinary students' performances in the cook-off. After Foundation Chair John Burson inducted the chapter's newest members, the group sat down to an excellent dinner prepared by current and former Owens faculty and students. Wines chosen by Vice Echanson Christopher Knapik went perfectly with the courses; a standout was Château d'Armailhac Pauillac 2014. New and established confrères alike were highly impressed with the students' work and proud to have participated in the Toledo Chapter's second scholarship presentation. G TOLEDO Terrace View Café Owens Community College April 14, 2018 WILD RAMP SOUP GRILLED OCTOPUS Lemon-Caper Beurre Blanc RABBIT ROULADE AND BRAISED PORK BELLY Apple Pan Sauce, Sweet Potato Hash SALADE LYONNAISE Poached Quail Egg ROASTED STRAWBERRY TRIFLE Lemon Cream Chevalier Joel Gorski, Clare Gorski, Maître Rôtisseur Jamie Simpson, and Morgan Tucker. Foundation Chair John Burson, Dame Barbara Burson, Royster Harper, and Chevalier Charles Harper. Winner Brittney Hagan and Competitors Makalah Parker, Reza Parkman, and Victoria Sievert. Competitor Makalah Parker, Bailli Ann Sanford, Winner Brittney Hagan, Foundation Chair John Burson, Competitor Victoria Sievert, Vice Chancelier-Argentier Mary Martin, and Competitor Reza Parkman. 2 0 1 9 v 1 :: G A S T R O N O M E :: 27 PHILANTHROPY

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Gastronome - VOL1 2019